SharedTutor | Tutorials For Everyone

Find your interesting tutorials in SharedTutor.com. Get your tutorial about Computer, Blogging, Makemoneyonline, Games, Design, and more!

How to delete your Windows 8 personal settings from the cloud



Remnants of one's Windows 8 sync settings be in the cloud, even if you turn off sync. We'll demonstrate how to delete your own settings from Microsoft's cloud servers.

Ed Rhee

May 31, 2013 12:24 PM PDT

Windows 8 sync settings(Credit: Screenshot by Ed Rhee/CNET)

Windows 8 can sync your settings and personal preferences over multiple PCs, so long as you log in along with your Microsoft account. It's a convenient feature in the event you frequently switch between computers, like a laptop plus a desktop. If you don't want to sync your settings, you can disable it when you go to PC Settings on your Windows 8 PC. However, your sync settings will continue on Microsoft's servers. Here's how you can delete your Windows 8 personal settings in the cloud:

Step 1: Disable syncing on every Windows 8 PC or RT device. Display the Charms bar by using the keyboard shortcut Windows key + C, or swipe in in the right edge over touch screens. Then, head to Settings > Change PC settings > Sync your settings. Move the slider for "Sync settings about this PC" to Off, that may gray out every one of the settings below it.

Step 2: Log in for your Microsoft account on the Web, then head to Microsoft's Windows 8 Personal Settings page. Click on the "Remove" button to request the deletion of one's sync settings.

Windows 8 personal settings page(Credit: Screenshot by Ed Rhee/CNET)

Step 3: At the confirmation prompt, click "Yes."

Windows 8 personal settings deletion confirmation(Credit: Screenshot by Ed Rhee/CNET)

Keep in mind that the deletion may not occur immediately. It's possible that the data will continue on Microsoft's cloud servers until the next "scheduled clean-up process."

(Via WinSuperSite)

No comments

Post a Comment